ESR Pollmeier GmbH
Servo Drive Technology

FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions – and answers

What is a servo drive system?

A servo drive system consists of a servo drive and a servo motor. The main task of a servo drive (also called "servo amplifier", "servo inverter", "servo controller", or just "controller") is the control of the motor current. In addition, ESR servo drives offer a broad spectrum of functionality (see Applications).

While most of the electrical drive systems are operated at constant speed, a servo drive has a rather "hectic" life. Often it has to accelerate to the rated speed within a few milliseconds only to decelerate a short time later just as quick. And of course the target position is to be reached exactly with an error of a few hundredths of a millimeter.

Compared to other controlled drives servo drive systems have the advantage of high dynamics and accuracy, full stall torque, and compact motors with high power density.

Where are servo drive systems used?

Servo drive systems are used where high dynamics (i. e. fast acceleration and deceleration) and good accuracy at reaching target positions are important. The good control behavior allows the optimal adaptation to the application (e. g. positioning without overshoot). But also the smooth run (due to sinusoidal commutation) and the possibility of exact synchronization of two or more drives open a wide field. Because of their wide speed range servo drives can be used in a huge number of applications.

Servo drives run in large, highly automated installations with several dozens of axes as well as in machines with only a few axes which perhaps operate independently. Further information on servo drive systems and their usage can be found at Applications.


What is a servo motor?

Servo motors are electric motors that are designed specially for high dynamics. Servo motors by ESR distinguish themselves by a compact design with high power density and a high degree of protection (up to IP 65). They come as AC servo motors (brushless) or DC servo motors (with brushes for the commutation). The high power density is achieved by permanent magnets made of neodymium-iron-boron (NdFeB), samarium-cobalt (SmCo), or ferrite material. The servo motor is equipped with a position sensor which provides the controller with position and speed information.

What kind of motor position sensor can be used?

As a standard, the AC servo motors are equipped with resolvers. In combination with the digital servo drives sincos encoders (absolute encoder, single-turn or multi-turn) and high-resolution incremental encoders may be used as well, in case higher accuracy or dynamics is required.

The DC servo motors can be equipped with tachogenerators and/or incremental encoders.

How to choose the appropriate servo motor?

For dimensioning the motor the following data are important: the mass of the parts to be moved, the cycle time of the application, and the friction torque. With these data the rated and peak torque (maximum acceleration or deceleration) and the rated speed can be calculated. If required, gears are used to match the moment of inertia of the motor to the moment of inertia of the application.

You can find technical specifications on ESR's servo motors at Products/Servo motors.

As a specialist for servo drive technology we offer a comprehensive support at choosing the right servo drive system, from drive system configuration in cooperation with users to solutions for special applications (see Support).


What is a servo drive?

The servo drive (also called "servo amplifier", "servo inverter", "servo controller", or just "controller") controls the current of the motor phases in order to supply the servo motor with exactly the current required for the desired torque and the desired speed. The essential parts of a servo drive are the power section and the control loops.

The power section consists of a mains rectifier, a DC-bus, and a power circuit which supplies the individual motor phases with current.

The control loops (analog or digital) drive the power circuit and by constantly comparing setpoint with actual values ensure that the motor keeps exactly to the desired motions even under varying load.

In addition, ESR servo drives offer a broad spectrum of functionality (see Applications).

How to choose the appropriate servo drive?

The servo drive has to supply the motor with the required current (rated current at continuous operation, peak current) and match the terminal voltage of the motor (125 V, 320 V, or 560 V). Also the intended purpose is important for the choice of the right drive:

Is the servo drive going to be used in velocity mode in a multi-axis application with a higher-level controller (e. g. CNC)? Then an analog servo drive may be sufficient.

Or should the drive be equipped with more functionality (e. g. for positioning control or axis synchronization) or a fieldbus (e. g. Interbus, CANopen, or Profibus-DP) for communication with the higher-level controller? In this case a digital servo drive has to be used.

Further information on ESR's servo drives and their functionality can be found at Applications. For technical specifications please take a look at Products/Servo drives.

We help you choose the right servo drive system matching your application and offer our support regarding drive system configuration (see Support).



Your question is not answered here? Please write to us: webmaster@esr-pollmeier.de
 
ESR. The Dynamic Solution
© 2000–2017 ESR Pollmeier GmbH – page address: http://esr-pollmeier.de/en/FAQ.php
The statements on this web page are for information, only. They do not guarantee properties. We reserve the right to make changes without notice. Errors excepted.

ESR Pollmeier GmbH
Servo-Antriebstechnik

FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions: Häufig gestellte Fragen – und Antworten

Was ist ein Servoantrieb?

Ein Servoantrieb besteht aus einem Servoregler und einem Servomotor. Kernaufgabe des Servoreglers (auch Servoverstärker oder Servoumrichter genannt) ist die Regelung des Stroms für die Motorphasen. Darüber hinaus zeichnen sich ESR-Servoregler durch ein umfangreiches Funktionsspektrum aus (siehe unter Anwendungen).

Während die meisten elektrischen Antriebe bei konstanter Drehzahl betrieben werden, hat ein Servoantrieb in der Regel ein eher "hektisches" Leben. Häufig soll er in wenigen Millisekunden auf Nenndrehzahl beschleunigen, um kurze Zeit später genauso schnell wieder abzubremsen und dabei die Zielposition auf wenige Hundertstel Millimeter genau anzufahren.

Vorteile des Servoantriebs gegenüber anderen geregelten Antrieben sind die hohe Dynamik und Genauigkeit, volles Stillstandsmoment und kompakte Motoren mit hoher Leistungsdichte.

Wo werden Servoantriebe eingesetzt?

Servoantriebe werden dort eingesetzt, wo es auf hohe Dynamik (also schnelles Beschleunigen und Bremsen) und auf gute Genauigkeit beim Erreichen von Zielpositionen ankommt. Das gute Regelverhalten ermöglicht die optimale Anpassung an die gewünschte Aufgabe (z. B. Positionieren ohne Überschwingen). Aber auch die guten Rundlaufeigenschaften (dank Sinuskommutierung) und die Möglichkeit zur exakten Synchronisation zweier oder mehrerer Antriebe eröffnen ein weites Einsatzfeld. Servoantriebe zeichnen sich durch einen großen Drehzahlstellbereich aus und sind vielfältig einsetzbar.

In großen Anlagen mit einigen Dutzend Achsen bei hohem Automatisierungsgrad werden Servoantriebe ebenso verwendet wie in Maschinen mit nur wenigen Achsen, die mitunter unabhängig voneinander betrieben werden. Weitere Informationen zu Servoantrieben und ihren Einsatzgebieten finden Sie unter Anwendungen.


Was ist ein Servomotor?

Servomotoren sind Elektromotoren, die für hohe Dynamik entwickelt wurden. ESR-Servomotoren zeichnen sich durch eine kompakte Bauweise mit hoher Leistungsdichte und hohe Schutzart (bis IP 65) aus, dabei wird unterschieden zwischen AC-Servomotoren (bürstenlos) und DC-Servomotoren (mit Bürsten für die Kommutierung). Die hohe Leistungsdichte wird durch Permanentmagnete erzielt, hier kommen Neodym-Eisen-Bor (NdFeB), Samarium-Kobalt (SmCo) und Ferrit-Materialien zum Einsatz. Zum Servomotor gehört ein Lagegeber, der den Regler mit Lage- und Drehzahlinformationen versorgt.

Welche Motor-Lagegeber können verwendet werden?

Die AC-Servomotoren sind standardmäßig mit Resolvern ausgestattet. In Verbindung mit den digitalen Servoreglern können auch Sincos-Geber (Absolutwertgeber, Singleturn oder Multiturn) und hochauflösende Inkrementalgeber verwendet werden, wenn eine höhere Genauigkeit oder Dynamik gewünscht ist.

Die DC-Servomotoren können mit Tachogeneratoren und/oder Inkrementalgebern ausgestattet werden.

Nach welchen Kriterien wird ein Servomotor ausgewählt?

Wichtig für die Dimensionierung des Motors sind: die Masse der zu bewegenden Teile (Trägheitsmoment), die Zykluszeit der Anwendung und die Reibmomente. Daraus lassen sich Nenn- und Spitzenmoment (maximale Beschleunigung oder Verzögerung) sowie die Nenndrehzahl ermitteln. Um das Trägheitsmoment des Motors dem Trägheitsmoment der Anwendung anzupassen, kommen gegebenenfalls Getriebe zum Einsatz.

Technische Daten zu ESR-Servomotoren finden Sie unter Produkte/Servomotoren.

Als Spezialist für Servo-Antriebstechnik bieten wir von der Antriebsauslegung in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Anwender bis hin zu Lösungen für spezielle Aufgabenstellungen eine umfassende Unterstützung bei der Wahl des geeigneten Servoantriebs (siehe unter Service).


Was ist ein Servoregler?

Der Servoregler (auch "Servoverstärker" oder "Servoumrichter" genannt) regelt den Strom für die Motorphasen, damit der Servomotor exakt mit dem Strom versorgt wird, den er für das gewünschte Drehmoment und die gewünschte Drehzahl benötigt. Zu den wesentlichen Elementen eines Servoreglers zählen der Leistungsteil und die Regelkreise.

Der Leistungsteil besteht aus einem Netzgleichrichter, einem Gleichspannungs-Zwischenkreis und einer Leistungs-Endstufe, die die einzelnen Motorphasen mit Strom versorgt.

Die Regelkreise (analog oder digital) steuern die Endstufe an und sorgen durch den ständigen Vergleich der Soll- und Istwerte (Strom, Drehzahl, ...) dafür, dass der Motor auch bei wechselnder Belastung den gewünschten Bewegungsablauf exakt einhält.

Darüber hinaus zeichnen sich ESR-Servoregler durch ein umfangreiches Funktionsspektrum aus (siehe unter Anwendungen).

Nach welchen Kriterien wird ein Servoregler ausgewählt?

Der Servoregler muss den Motor mit dem gewünschten Strom versorgen können (Nennstrom im Dauerbetrieb, Spitzenstrom) und zu der Klemmenspannung des Motors passen (125 V, 320 V oder 560 V). Darüber hinaus ist der Verwendungszweck für die Wahl des geeigneten Geräts entscheidend:

Soll der Servoantrieb in einer Mehrachsanwendung von einer übergeordneten Steuerung (z. B. CNC) in der Geschwindigkeitsvorgabe betrieben werden? Dann kann ein analoger Servoregler ausreichen.

Oder soll der Antrieb Funktionen (wie z. B. einen Positionierablauf oder eine Achsensynchronisation) selbst übernehmen? Oder über eine Feldbus-Schnittstelle (z. B. Interbus, CANopen oder Profibus-DP) mit der übergeordneten Steuerung kommunizieren? Dann kommt ein digitaler Servoregler zum Einsatz.

Weitere Informationen zu ESR-Servoreglern und ihrer Funktionalität finden Sie unter Anwendungen. Technische Daten finden Sie unter Produkte/Servoregler.

Wir bieten Ihnen bei der Auswahl des geeigneten Servoreglers eine kompetente Beratung und unterstützen Sie bei der Auslegung des zu Ihrer Anwendung passenden Antriebs (siehe unter Service).



Ihre Frage ist nicht dabei? Schreiben Sie uns: webmaster@esr-pollmeier.de
 
ESR. The Dynamic Solution
© 2000–2017 ESR Pollmeier GmbH– Adresse dieser Seite: http://esr-pollmeier.de/de/FAQ.php
Die Angaben auf dieser WWW-Seite haben informativen Charakter ohne Zusicherung von Eigenschaften. Irrtum sowie Änderungen ohne vorherige Ankündigungen vorbehalten.